* Visa Exempted (B-1)

Tourist / Transit (General)

Eligible applicants or activities allowed

Citizen of a country under Visa exemption agreement with the Republic of Korea who plans to engage in activities in accordance with the agreement

List of Parties to the Visa Waiver AgreementĀ (signed and ratified by 107 countries as of FEB 21, 2018).pdf


* Tourist / Transit (General) (B-2-1)

Tourist / Transit (General)

Eligible applicants or activities allowed

Person who plans to visit Korea for tour or transit without a visa

Visa Free Entry Guide

Visa is a fundamental requirement to enter the Republic of Korea, and in principle, foreigners must have valid visas when they travel. However, those who fall under any of the following categories below are allowed to enter Korea without visas. (Article 7(2) of the Immigration Act)

Even if the foreigner has the valid visa or is subject to visa-free entry, he/she may be denied entry to the Republic of Korea if he’s found inadmissible by an immigration officer at the port of entry.

Visa Free Entry by Designation

Visa free countries are designated based on international conventions, principle of reciprocity and national interests. (45 countries as of 2022.10.01)
In general, citizens of visa free countries are allowed to tour or visit Korea without a visa and to stay in the country for up to 30 days.
In addition, Canada(6months), citizens of Macau, the US, Australia, Hong Kong, Slovenia, Taiwan, Argentina and Japan are allowed to stay for up to 90 days.

Visa Free Entry by Diplomatic and Government Official Passport Holders


Countries and Regions

Asia [2 countries]

Indonesia, Lebanon

Visa Free Entry by Diplomatic, Government Official, and Regular Passport Holders


Countries and Regions

Asia [9 countries]

Brunei, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Bahrain, Japan(90days), Hong Kong(90days), Macau(90days), Taiwan(90days), Kuwait(90days)

North America [2 countries]

US(90days), Canada(6months)

South America [5 countries]

Argentina(90days), Honduras, Paraguay, Ecuador(90days), Guyana

Europe [11 countries]

Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Cyprus, Albania, Croatia(90days), Slovenia(90days), Vatican, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia(90days), Montenegro

Oceania [13 countries]

Australia(90days), Guam, Fiji, Nauru, Palau, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Micronesia, New Caledonia, Samoa, Tuvalu, Tonga

Africa [5 countries]

South Africa, Mauritius, Seychelles, Swaziland, Botswana

More details can be found on